Daily Archives: October 15, 2011

Occupy the Internet

As many if not most throughout the nation are doing, I have been researching Occupy Wall Street. I wanted to get a better sense of who they are and what they want. I want to be informed, as should everyone, however that is another issue entirely.While going through this article and that website, I noticed that some of these site which have gone up quite quickly are pretty great the time crunch considered. Occupy Together, is one I particularly liked and it also gave me some information about how the web is being involved.

May First, a web hosting service is offering free web hosting to Occupy related websites. I find that absolutely terrific. The organization itself sounds terrific, stating on their about page that “MF/PL is an organization that redefines the concept of “Internet Hosting Service” in a collective, progressive and collaborative way.” It will take a little more time than a traditional server would to get the site up and running, but that’s because they are volunteers according to Occupy Together. Regardless of the time table, this is a fantastic resource. The internet should be a medium for expressing just this sort of discontent, and I’m glad to see that at least one web hosting service is on board with that idea.

Occupy Together Website: